Archive Tag: video

24 Nov 2017

Today’s the day! The new Pugwash album Silverlake is finally here! To celebrate the launch Thomas Walsh and good friend Matt Berry had a bit of fun making this autumnal video for your entertainment.

Get Silverlake! Lojinx Direct | iTunes | Spotify | Deezer | Play

Pugwash - Silverlake (Lojinx)

Vinyl is expected to arrive late November. US stores (including Amazon) will have non-import CD & vinyl available once stock crosses the Atlantic, in a few weeks. Limited edition blue vinyl available only from indie record stores.

<< lojinx blog
08 Sep 2017

Earlier this year, the Portland, Oregon-based Blitzen Trapper accomplished a unique feat for a rock band who has been releasing albums and touring for the better part of two decades: a staged musical titled Wild & Reckless that ran for 28 performances at Portland Center Stage. Today, the band is announcing a new album of the same title that was born from the stage production and as a companion to their 2008 breakthrough album Furr.

Yesterday, Entertainment Weekly premiered “Rebel,” the first single to be released from the forthcoming album.

‘Rebel’ is a song about a guy who for the love of a girl follows in his father’s footsteps only to find it to be a scam,” explains principal and frontman Eric Earley. “After several tries at the American dream he ends up selling cocaine to blue bloods in the Hollywood hills. Something of a lost Raymond Carver story with shambling near-country soundtrack.

The album Wild & Reckless was born from the stage production that the band spent the better part of a year producing. The half musical, half rock-opera dealt with heroin abuse, desperation, true love and western power structures. The story evoked a bygone era of Portland with this sci-fi love story, featuring a rock-and-roll score that paired unreleased songs with favorites from the band’s catalog.

Following the success of the production, the band took 7 original songs from the production and developed the theme further into the 12 songs that comprise the new album Wild & Reckless.

Frontman Eric Earley also sees the record as a companion and extention of their 2008 album Furr. “Wild and Reckless is something like a cross-eyed stepchild to Furr, in that it chronicles the darker dystopian stories of rural and suburban west coast death-drive via a riffing psychedelic landscape. Ten years after Furr with all its talk of murder and the end of the western world, it seems there’s more to tell.

Blitzen Trapper is Eric Earley (songwriter/singer), Erik Menteer (guitar, keyboard), Brian Adrian Koch (drums, vocals), Michael Van Pelt (bass) and Marty Marquis (keyboard, vocals). Wild & Reckless was produced by Eric Earley and Michael Van Pelt and was recorded by Gregg Williams at The Trench, in Portland, Oregon.  It was mixed by James Brown (Foo Fighters, Kings Of Leon, Blitzen Trapper’s All Across This Land) at The Union.

Wild and Reckless is available for pre-order now and will be released in Europe on British indie label Lojinx. Pre-order now on heavyweight vinyl LP, CD & digital.

Wild & Reckless tracklist:

1) Rebel
2) Wild & Reckless
3) Forever Pt. 1
4) Joanna
5) No Man’s Land
6) Stolen Hearts
7) Dance With Me
8) Love Live On
9) When I’m Dying
10) Baby Won’t You Turn Me On
11) Forever Pt. 2
12) Wind Don’t Always Blow

<< lojinx blog
09 Nov 2016

Butch Walker smiles and shreds his way through a live version of “Stay Gold,” the title track from his newest solo release, during a new performance on the AT&T Audience Network in the US. The televised concert focuses on songs from Stay Gold, with rock & roll guitars and sing-along choruses that find Walker putting a positive spin on the listlessness that filled his childhood days in a small, dead-end Southern hometown.


<< lojinx blog
14 Oct 2016

From 90s power pop hit maker Marvelous 3 to producer and songwriter for mega stars like Fall Out Boy, Taylor Swift, and Weezer, Butch Walker has worn many hats in his two-plus decades in the music Industry. But in his own music, you’ll find that he has a lot more in common with the artists that he grew up listening to. In this instalment of Song Stories, Walker talks about his process, how a producer’s role has changed, and how he drew inspiration from mid-80s era Petty, Mellencamp, and the Boss when making his new record, Stay Gold.


<< lojinx blog
11 Oct 2016

Female First have premiered the 3rd acoustic video from the deluxe edition of Fred Abbott‘s Serious Poke album.  One Hot Night is one of three acoustic tracks recorded live in the studio, and captured on video, for the bonus tracks release. Fred commented:

Here’s the last of the live acoustic videos cut down in my basement studio. This time it’s everyone’s favourite Parisian party track “One Hot night”, in a more reflective stripped down setting. This is always great fun to play live. I’m looking forward to hitting the road for some shows with the full band in November supporting The Zombies. Hope to see some of you there!

Fred and his band will be supporting the legendary Zombies for a run of shows in early November:

  • 01 NOV 2016 Aberystwyth, Arts Centre
  • 02 NOV 2016 Aberdare, Coliseum Theatre
  • 03 NOV 2016 Newbury, Arlington Arts Centre
  • 09 NOV 2016 Bath, Komedia

The new Deluxe Edition of Fred’s debut solo album Serious Poke, with 6 bonus tracks, is out now!


<< lojinx blog
30 Sep 2016

Folk Radio have premiered the new live acoustic video, “Honey“, by Fred Abbott & his band:

This is a great earworm for a Friday – A new acoustic video for ‘Honey,’ from former Noah & The Whale guitarist Fred Abbott.

Taken from the new Deluxe Edition of Fred’s debut solo album Serious Poke, with 6 bonus tracks, out now!


<< lojinx blog